Tags

, , , ,

Checkerboard WidgitLisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures has a Facebook Page where she sells a variety of beads and also kits for hops and challenges she hosts.  Today is the reveal for one of those – Checkerboard Blog Hop.  The red and black kits (and some had clear/white as well) included either glass pearl and cultured sea glass or crystal and cultured sea glass.  I chose pearl.

CheckerboardKitThis is part of my kit.  I also had a medium size black bead strand and some clear sea glass barbells.  I’m really intrigued with the barbell shape, so I used that first.

CheckerboardFiberThis kit brought out my love of vivid colors for some reason.  I had several ideas that used a lot of color, but in the end this is my only really colorful piece.  I stuck more to the checkerboard theme for the rest.  Here I used colorful fiber beads along with the sea glass barbells and tied some coordinating fibers around the middle of each barbell bead.  I used some of the medium black beads as spacers and in the back of the necklace.  I think this is a really fun piece.

CheckerboardLeafBraceletHere I used some vintage leaf chain that I really love.  It already looks like a bracelet just on its own.  I simply added some of the red pearls as drops and a black vintage glass bead to make it the right length and add some interest.  It looks really cute on.

CheckerboardDiscs

For this necklace, I used the black sea glass discs along with some rough silver discs I got at an antiques store last fall.  The thinner silver discs toward the outside I got with some destash metal.  It was fun to also use two of the silver stars at each end of the sea glass and the clasp that came with the rough silver discs.  I finished it off with some large link dark silver chain.  I like its industrial look.

Checkerboard braided

For this necklace, I practiced (first time!) a braiding technique demonstrated by Sandra Younger in the instructional video for her Knotty Do-It-All that I acquired last summer and have recently started to use.  I used some of the red and black pearls and finished it off with a composite stone pendant.  I’m really pleased with how my first effort of this technique turned out.  It has long been a favorite look of mine.  Now I can work with it.  I love it when a challenge pushes me to try something new!

Thank you so much, Lisa, for another great challenge!  Please visit the links below to see what other participants made with their Checkerboard Challenge kits.

Your hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist

Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation

Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations

Toltec  Jewels, Jewel School Friends

Heather Richter, Desert Jewelry Designs

Candida Elkins Castleberry, Spun Sugar Beadworks

Kathleen Breeding, 99 Bottles of Beads on the Wall

Mischelle Fanucchi, Micheladas Musings

Becky Pancake, Becky Pancake Bead Designs

Kari Asbury, Hippie Chick Design

Susan Anderson, La Main Tresor

Kathy Lindemer, Bay Moon Design

Ann Schroeder, Bead Love

Kim Dworak, Cianci Blue

Margaret Pelech, Margaret Pelech’s Blog

Lisa Prewitt Knappenberger, LiRaysa Designs

Annette Rivers, Mama Owls Mess

Carol Briody, A Beads Life

Miranda Ackerley, MirandAck

Marybeth Rich, A Few Words from within the Pines

Karin Grosset Grange (France), Ginkgo et Coquelicot

Katrina Scuderi Taylor, I Wanna Go Out