Tags

,

I vacillate between calling the room I use to create in my craft room and my studio.  When I bought this place and decided what to use the room for, I called it my craft room.  It had an office space, a paper crafts area, and a bead area. This has been evolving over the last couple of years.  I’ve given away the bulk of my paper craft supplies, and I’m slowly converting that real estate into an appropriate area for jewelry and beads.  Studio just sounds more like what I want it to become.

Part of the evolution is to find appropriate storage for my needs now.  I prefer a clean look, but I also prefer old things.  So while a hodge podge of storage solutions isn’t as sleek as all matching items (which might be a bit cold anyway) it is head and shoulders above a bunch of stuff in stacks sitting out.

drawersclosed

My parents found these vintage stackable drawers at a junk shop.  There are 8 more of them in my garage.  Since they had spent a long time in the basement of the shop, they needed a clean up, and I only felt like washing four of them today.  It’s like wrestling a plastic animal since they are just slightly smaller than my utility sink.

This corner used to be stacked with a variety of boxes destined to become bead storage.  As I buy from new artists or need to further separate items I’m getting a greater quantity of, I put more boxes into the game.  Storing them is nicer than stacking them.  I think these could also be good drawers for storing ribbon and leather so they can spread out and have fewer folds in them.

drawersopen

Once I bring all 12 drawers inside, I will have the top of the stack free for a piece of art.  I have a decorated gourd that was displaced from where it used to be.  It will be happy on top of the drawers.

My low level of tolerance for tackling the messy job of washing 12 drawers in one session is part of what I think is a personality block to creativity.  I don’t like to get messy or create a mess.  You can see where that would be problematic.

WTJ

I had read good things about this book as a way to stimulate creativity.  I’ve done some of the tasks in the book, and at first I couldn’t see how it was helping me.  I recently had an epiphany.  The cover of the book is matte black.  My default is to not want not to get fingerprints on a matte black item, so I would wash my hands before I touched the book.  Then I realized that is counter to what the book is trying to teach me.  The tag line on the display for the book was something like, “For recovering perfectionists everywhere!”  I always shy away from calling myself a perfectionist because in so many areas I’m very able to let good enough be good enough.  But creativity is not one where I find that easy.  A big part of that is actual messiness and the “messiness” of having to try things that aren’t going to work out in order to get better with practice.

I announced to my sister the other day that I touched the journal without washing my hands.  While that probably doesn’t sound like much of a breakthrough to many people, she complimented me knowing that it was. Making this connection between reluctance to make a mess and stifled creativity has been very instructive, and I look forward to practicing my messiness skills this year.

