Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Diana Ptaszynski of Suburban Girl Studio recently got started on a waxed linen kick.  Who can blame her?  Waxed linen is great! Diana decided to have a waxed linen jewelry blog hop.  What a fun idea, and today is the reveal!

I love waxed linen and have been practicing in the last year to get better using it in my jewelry designs.  I had several ideas for this blog hop, but in the end I went with a necklace design using these gloriously grungy connectors by Diane Hawkey.  I got them last year at Bead & Button.

Diane Hawkey connectors

BeadLove - Waxed Linen Blog Hop

I knotted the three connectors together on brown waxed linen, added two round beads in the same color family and then added sections of rough little ceramic beads from Kandu Beads.  The clasp consists of a linen loop and an orange raku bead by Keith O’Connor.  There is a little bit of the same color orange in one of the connectors.  I love that!

 

Bead Love - Waxed Linen Challenge

I knotted between sections of the tiny beads to give the necklace more structure and a little more heft.  What I like about waxed linen is that it’s flexible and comes in so many sizes and colors.  You can choose a color that blends in like I did or use the linen as a pop of color.  Things made with linen drape so nicely. It’s also easier to save materials if a design doesn’t work out.  I’ve been able to take apart entire necklaces because the wax makes the linen easier to unknot.

I had a lot of fun with this challenge and look forward to more designs using waxed linen.  If you are looking for inspiration, check out Erin Siegel’s Pinterest page.  Erin is the one who inspired Diana’s waxed linen adventures, and Lorelei Eurto and Erin co-authored the wonderful Bohemian-Inspired Jewelry with lots of great projects using fibers, including waxed linen.

Thanks so much Diana for this fun blog hop, and thank YOU for visiting!  Now please go check out the beauties all the other participants made on the blogs below:

Diana Ptaszynski – Our Host!
Ann Schroeder – You are HERE!