Tags

, ,

Today is the reveal for the Forest Journey edition of the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge, and this time it’s a competition! Artist Andrew Thornton has put together yet another fabulous kit with one of his lovely handmade components. Of course I forgot to get a picture of the kit – grrr! – but almost everything I used came from the kits, so you’ll have a good idea of what it contained.

The first thing that struck me were these metal drops that were perfect for earrings, so I made some.

Then, looking at the variety of wonderful beads in this kit, I decided to use a mix of them together in a long necklace with the handmade pendant.

All of these beads are from the kit except a few Elaine Ray ceramic beads – the brown lentil above the pendant, three brown discs stacked together, the polka dot bead and the little brown cube.  I strung them all on the waxed linen from the kit. Other than that, I only added the leafy clasp. The colors in this necklace are wonderful, and the variety of shapes remind me of treasures collected during a walk in the forest.

This is not dissimilar to necklaces I’ve made in the past, but I do love this style that allows me to use a few of a lot of different styles of wonderful beads. This one is extra long which I think lends elegance.

To see what other participants made, visit the Allegory Design Challenge Facebook group.  Thanks once again to Andrew, William, Allegory Gallery and everyone who plays along and makes it so much fun to join in these design challenges.

 

 

