Tags

, , , , , ,

Artist Terri DelSignore, one of the contributors to the Art Bead Scene blog, created a new Facebook page dedicated to the inspiration for bead and jewelry making that we find in everyday things.  I like this because it stretches my creativity.  My inspiration mostly comes from beads, often challenges.  If I have a group of beads, ideas come to me. But I know I make different things with different inspiration – for example the art posted on Art Bead Scene or a book from the Inspired by Reading Book Club.  I’m very task oriented, and don’t think to find a lot of inspiration in the everyday.  But it’s all around!  Here are some suggestions by Terri in a recent post.

I often walk past a clothing boutique, Change, near where I work.  I like the logo they have in their windows: it’s retro yet modern. Here is a picture I snapped the other day.

It reminded me of a plastic filigree piece I got in an Andrew Thornton destash. And I think this logo was in the back of my mind when I got the piece. Then Loralee Kolton, who makes some of the best earrings anywhere ever, made earrings out of a couple of filigree pieces and they had dangles.  She does the best messy wire wrapping (not on the earring dangles, but just this is what was in my head.)  Here is what I came up with.

I’m really happy with the piece.  I think it turned out fun and elegant.  I used tiny garnet briolettes with a shiny copper wire messy wrap for my dangles, one calla lilly bead above the plastic scroll pendant, and freshwater pearls. The beautiful hand patina chain by Miss Fickle Media brings the copper from the front around to the back. The pendant totally reminds me of the logo! What inspiration can you find around you every day?