Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Art Bead Scene blog issues a challenge each month.  Create something that uses an art bead and is inspired by a featured work of art.  The September challenge piece is “The White Rose and The Red Rose” a mixed media piece by Margaret Macdonald.  Although pretty, this romantic, diaphanous look is not really the most inspiring for me.  I respond more immediately to bolder colors and strong lines.

The WhiteRose and the RedRose

However, a day or so after the September Monthly Challenge post went up, I got an order from Tree Wings Studio.  Rebekah Payne has started selling hand-drawn art focals by her sister Bethanne in her shop.  From the first time I saw them, I was hooked.  They are so unique, detailed, and beautiful.  Although many of them are of the romantic, muted nature, they really appealed to me. When I opened the package I realized one pendant had the exact color palette and feel of the ABS challenge piece for this month!  I knew I had to participate.

SEP ABS Focals

The design is hand-drawn in colored pencils on shrink plastic.  I think these are amazing.  You should go check out Bethanne’s line.  I decided to use cream and green pearls and grey labradorite with bluish tones, so I wanted to get some red/rose in there.  I used this beautiful lampwork bead by Susan Kennedy of Sue Beads and a couple of red crystals as a dangle by the clasp.

SEP ABS fullI also wanted to get a close up of some of the beads, especially the vintage glass bead.  The lines in the glass bead remind me of the swirls in the inspiration piece as well as the pendant. SEP ABS beads

This was another great challenge from Art Bead Scene.  Thank you!  You can see what all participants make over the month by keeping up with the ABS Flickr page.