Tags

,

I’m a pretty equal opportunity bead lover, especially colors. I do really like pretty much all colors. I will say that I think blue is my least favorite color, though. However, sometimes the perfect beads come along and a least favorite shape or color or size doesn’t matter.

Andrew Thornton of Allegory Gallery has a Facebook destash page where I am able to get some really fabulous beads. Recently he had some vintage Czech glass beads in extra long strands. I’m always thrilled when I can get a really long strand because I love the look of a long necklace made primarily of one fabulous bead. When I saw these beads, they were the perfect shape, size and color – yes, blue! Cobalt blue. I love everything about them. So this is one of the many times when I wanted to keep the original strand of beads mostly as I saw it and fell in love with it.

I strung the beads, that have a wonderful weight, on waxed linen with tiny dark red seed beads in between. These have become some of my favorite spacers. I added a lampwork bead for interest. (I got it in a different destash and don’t know the artist.) I think it kind of looks like an owl!

I really love how this necklace looks with these beautiful, luminous blue beads.

SaveSave

