Tags

,

I got my September Darn Good Beads of the Month shipment recently from Darn Good Yarn. They had been sending kits with beads, supplies and instructions for a specific project. I liked the projects but the company recently decided, based on some customer feedback, to send more beads for people to just use as they’d like. I enjoy that too!

This month we received two strands of lovely matte glass beads from Nepal. Each strand came in a pretty, reusable organza bag.  

I love etched beads. These colors, shapes and textures are so pretty, and I was thrilled to have enough to make a nice, long necklace. I knew the look I wanted right away. I started to knot them on waxed linen, but some of the beads had larger holes and needed more than a knot to keep them securely in place. I got some dark red seed beads and realized if I used those I didn’t even need to do any knotting. It was nice to give my wrist, which has been hurting lately, a rest from knotting.  Although holding tiny seed beads and trying to get them strung on the waxed linen is no easy task for one’s wrist either! I added at least two seed beads in between each glass bead to get the spacing I was looking for.

I love making this kind of necklace with beads that are the same yet different – all matte glass but in various shapes, sizes and textures. It’s so fun deciding which bead to string next and discovering that some have the texture of raspberry filled candies we used to get every Christmas when I was a kid, or that there was only one square bead. Also, my mother said it looks very different depending on what color I’m wearing it against.

The finished necklace is just the casual, bohemian style I love. It’s also an excellent necklace for layering; I wore it with this turquoise and leather creation the other day. Thanks for another great kit, Darn Good Yarn!

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

