Tags

, , , , ,

Today is the reveal for the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge – Grow edition. This kit was inspired by a painting by Mystele Kirkeeng who recently had a show at Allegory Gallery. I love her work; what a wonderful color mix this kit is!  I even remembered to take a kit picture, along with the inspiration.  

Yum, right? The same day I got the kit, I got my first order from Candie Cooper. Some of the things in my order from her were perfect for this challenge. I ordered some felted balls thinking of this necklace that I saw long ago. I stacked a few of the felt balls and combined kit beads with some bright beads from my stash to make this necklace. I used a yellow glass ring to connect the two. 

I love all of these bright colors together. I always like to use some of the fun individual beads from the kit that I find charming.  Near the clasp, I tied a yellow flower and a blue heart. There was also a small striped lampwork ring that I used between the yellow and purple beads near the blue heart.

Then I made another necklace using the beautiful chip beads from the kit.

I really love these chip beads.  I’m not sure what they are – maybe serpentine? – but they have a creaminess to them that is beautiful.  I used waxed linen the same color that came with the kit (I might have cut up the linen that came with the kit trying to string those felt balls several times).  I like the bright pops of color peeking out from the chips.  For the pendant, I used a Venetian bead with colors from the kit. I used its twin in a design for the Evening Serenade challenge.  It goes with everything!  Then I dangled two kit beads and a bead from my stash (I knew that orange bead with stars would come in handy!) in little brass cages from the bottom for a fun look.

Next I decided to use Andrew’s amazing handmade pendant.  Gorgeous, happy, bright flowers.  This is the type of color combination I love.  I used a green bead above it from the kit and then used two long green beads from the kit with a variety of Czech glass from my stash to string a flowy necklace on waxed linen. By the clasp I used two more of the single charming beads from the kit – a yellow moon and a peacock dagger.

There are a ton more beads left from this kit that I didn’t have a chance to use. This was a beautiful kit.  Thanks, William, Andrew and Allegory Gallery!  To see what others made with their kits, visit the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge Facebook page.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

