Tags

, , , , ,

I have long admired the technique of wire wrapping tiny gems.  I think I first became aware of it by (at that time local artist) Sarah DeAngelo whose work I saw at art fairs. This was years ago when that technique seemed a thing of mystery.  More recently, I see it used to great effect by Loralee Kolton and Suhana Hart of Buttoned Up Beads.

When I saw a pair of earring charms (one above) by Terri Del Signore of Artisticaos, I knew immediately I could use one with some excellent bone beads with similar designs and coloring for a necklace. When I thought I had finished the necklace, the part with the large charm wire looked more naked than I was expecting. So I decided to try the tiny gem wire-wrapping with some beautiful faceted pyrite that was on my bead table. 

It’s not perfect, but it went better than I expected. I also wanted a gemstone to hang from the hole at the bottom of the charm and found this wonderful, rough diopside nugget.

The bone beads with designs (I picked out mostly ones with an “x” pattern to echo the charm) are what I had in mind, and I added some apatite spacers. That was completely “these are on my table from another recent project, so I’ll use them.”  But I think they are perfect.

I love this necklace. Sometimes skill progress is so gradual that it’s almost imperceptible, but I do feel like this design is really pretty and a bit more sophisticated than I often make. It was simmering in my brain since I saw the charms, and I guess I gave it just the right amount of time to come to fruition.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

