Tags

, , , , ,

Last night I went up to my studio to clean up a little bit.  There is always cleaning to do.  I usually do some cleaning but also end up making as well. Which is still cleaning because I am using materials.  So, here is what I made.

Not long ago I got an adorable cat pendant and a couple of whirligig charms from Linda Landig Jewelry in the completely fabulous mid-century modern color combination of turquoise and orange.  Love!  So I did not want to add much because they are perfect just on their own.  When I have pieces like that with a really bright color, I know what to do. Head straight over to My Elements because it will have exactly what I need in the color I need it to make a piece that will highlight my beads. So one order of orange ball chain, orange jump rings and turquoise O rings later, here is my necklace.

This is one of those what I call “floppy” necklaces. Not a lot of structure, maybe a big jump ring that makes it lay weird when flat.  Hard to get a good picture. And I see one of my cute O rings is askew above.  Here’s another shot.

I fell in love with this cat pendant the second I saw it.  My vision was to put the O rings on the ball chain so there would be a pop of turquoise between each orange round, but I need either slightly bigger O rings or more patience.  Or I could just leave it as it.  It’s pretty darn cute now.

Next I got a lovely bird pendant from BlueberriBeads. I didn’t have anything particular in mind for it, but while I was cleaning up, I was putting away the bird as well as several strands of a favorite yellow plastic beads I get from Allegory Gallery. I really love them and keep buying them even though I haven’t used that many. But I saw the yellow on the bird and thought they’d go nicely together. 

I used other beads on my table to round things out.  One random Czech glass to hold the bird on (it has a large hole).  What I believe to be a Gaea bead above the bird, and then some apatite rondelles as spacers.  

I used a hand forged black iron hook clasp from Creating Unkamen. I have to get more of those. I love them.  Ok, so I didn’t spend as much time cleaning up as I might have, but I look at it as fewer beads to put away (and more fun jewelry to wear)!

SaveSave

