Tags

, , ,

I haven’t participated in an Art Bead Scene Challenge for quite a while – I think since last year – and I miss it.  Limited creative time and energy get in the way. This month’s challenge art is Tiger in a Tropical Storm by Henri Rousseau.

When I saw the challenge art this month, I had an idea for beads right away, but hadn’t gotten around to doing anything about it. I might not have except for seeing this post by Erin Prais-Hintz about her beads inspired by the art this month. Seeing her beautiful work and the gorgeous color palette again inspired me to get to work!

I had in mind a pendant from Green Girl Studios with a tiger on it and some black and orange striped African glass. I did end up using those, but I was surprised how many other beads I was choosing from without even looking very hard.

I love this polymer piece by Pam Wynn with what appears to be a tiger’s tail amongst the greenery and stormy winds. How perfect is that? I also did use some of those African glass beads, a long African bauxite bead and simple cut stitchtite nuggets.

I was happy to be able to bring in a little more of the bright orange with a plastic donut and some of the darker green with waxed linen. I feel like I’ve captured a little bit of the chaos in the painting with the mixed materials. Visit the Art Bead Scene Pinterest jewelry page and bead page to see more interpretations of this month’s challenge.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

