Tags

,

I love a good surprise package, so I always like the idea of a monthly bead club subscription.  I had done business with Darn Good Yarn in the past; they have lots of lovely things in addition to yarn.  They have a variety of things that beaders can use, so a Darn Good Beads of the Month Club seems like a natural fit. I suspected the projects would be geared toward beginners, and I wondered if I would enjoy them. I decided it was worth a try because their aesthetic is something that appeals to me – I’ve purchased supplies as well as clothing from their site.

darn-good-yarn-kit-1

I really enjoyed my first project – The Lanterns of Marrakesh.  The materials are good quality, like a decent gauge jump ring. Materials were for an entire necklace, although I only made the tassel and didn’t attach the chain to the tassel because I plan to incorporate this into another project. However, I would have been happy with the project as is.

dgy-lantern-tassel

I like the rustic nature of sari silk, but this was sticking up at right angles too much for me after tying it onto the tassel cap, so I ran the iron over it.  I might have gotten a bit heavy handed, but that’s ok.  I really love the colors of the ribbon and the findings.  There was enough work to this to make it seem like a project – cutting the chain (I had started doing that before remembering to take a photo of the kit), cutting the ribbon, and connecting it all.  But these are nice supplies that one could use separately as well.

dgy-kit-1-leftovers

In fact, because I’m not making the tassel into a necklace with the kit materials (yet anyway) I have some nice chain, jump rings and a clasp left over.  I really look forward  to receiving the next kit.

