Tags

, , , , , ,

The Art Bead Scene Blog shares a piece of art for inspiration every month.  The challenge is for participants to make something based on that art that uses an art bead.

december_monthly_challenge2016This month’s inspiration is America Windows, stained glass panels by Marc Chagall. The panels depict various scenes in vibrant colors against a bright blue background.  What caught my attention in an art bead way is that the pieced nature of this worked looked to me like a crackle treatment.  I immediately though of a couple of tiny crackle connectors I have by Marina Rios of Fanciful Devices.

beadlove-dec-abs-3

In considering my design, I originally planned to use the two connectors together.  However, as I got started I decided to just use one to connect a Staci Louise Smith crackle pendant to the rest of the necklace.  I used a couple of different blue Czech glass beads and finished it with some chain.  I like how the chain ties into the metal of the connector and the brown in the pendant.  I also used a blue ball headpin from Eden Art Glass for a nice little pop of blue at the bottom of the pendant.

In the sixth panel of the work, there is “a dynamic swirling form of colors and shapes” that is echoed in the swirl of the pendant.  I’m pleased with all the tiny details that come together in this necklace to make it a very pretty piece.

Please visit the Art Bead Scene Pinterest page to see what other participants make based on this month’s inspiration.

