Tags

, , ,

Recently I bought this fabulous Ionu (as in watchful eye) owl pendant by Erin Prais-Hintz of Tesori Trovati.  I have long admired Erin for the beautiful jewelry and components she makes, the way she branches out and challenges herself with new ideas and mediums, and the way she uses her art to inspire and bring positivity to the world.  Which brings us to these pendants.

ionu-owl

Each one is different, and they are just cute as all get out.  I love how charming they are, how much personality they have.  But what I really love is the idea behind them.  Erin was feeling stuck because of the hatred, intolerance and fear in the world, and this is part of the way she unstuck herself.  Eighty percent of the purchase price of each pendant will be donated to the Southern Poverty Law Center.  They are dedicated to “fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society.” I think it’s easy to feel overwhelmed in the face of large problems, and I appreciate people who find ways around that to take action.  Read Erin’s very eloquent thoughts behind this pendant here.

ionu-necklace

I wanted to start wearing mine soon.  It makes me feel good. At first, I was planning to knot some manik-manik lampwork with it.  I picked out some beads, but they seemed too busy for the owl.  Then I was planning to look through my Czech glass, but on the way I spotted a box of glass pearls.  I first decided to use a bag of grey pearls, but then I was struck by a bag of mixed colors and sizes.  I combined the two. This is one of my go to styles – beads knotted 1/4″ apart on waxed linen.  So easy to wear.  And I like the idea of the mix of beads. Kind of like all people are beautiful pearls even though we are all different. (There’s even one freshwater pearl on there!)

It’s very snowy out here today, and there is too much glare for me to get a really good picture.  But I wanted to share this right away.  If you need a gift idea for someone and this would make them feel as good as it does me, check it out.  Or even just donate directly to SPLC.  Don’t get stuck.  There is always a way forward.

