Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have two reveals today!  To see the reveal for the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge – Storm Cloud, click here.

Today is the reveal for the Inspired by Reading Book Club featuring the book The Silver Witch by Paula Brackston.  I really enjoyed this book, although it took me over 100 pages to get into it, and it wasn’t a long book!  I don’t know why. Perhaps because so much of the beginning of the book was the main character in her head.  I live so much in my own head, maybe I like books with characters who get outside themselves more for a change.  I’m not sure.  Anyway, as I’ve said before, this is the great thing about book club. I persevered because of book club and enjoyed a book I otherwise would have abandoned.

This book is about Tilda Fordwells, her experiences and what she learns about herself as she starts a new life in a remote cabin in Wales a year after her husband’s death. I really enjoy books about women taking control of their lives and also like magical realism, so this was just my sort of book.

BeadLove - The Silver Witch

I had recently gotten this hare by Grubbi, so it was just perfect since a hare features in the story.  I wanted to include something in beautiful gold as a nod to the torc.  I had larger things in mind, but settled on this one bead with a fancy design on it.  I have a couple of large gold seed beads and a gold Nunn Design toggle as well.  I had some lovely matching rounds also from Grubbi that I thought about using, but I couldn’t stop thinking about these vintage German glass beads.  They always remind me of snow, also something that has a role in the story.  I separated the glass with tiny stones. Although they are stone, they look to me like clay pots and reminded me of Tilda’s work.

When I went to look for a good link for this book, I found the author has a bunch of others.  I enjoyed this book enough that I will be checking those out, and I look forward to reading more of Paula Brackston’s work.  Thank you to Andrew Thornton and William Jones of Allegory Gallery for hosting the book club!  Check out the Inspired by Reading Book Club Facebook page to see what others have made.

