Tags

, , , , , ,

I have two reveals today!  To see the reveal for the Inspired by Reading Book Club – The Silver Witch, please click here.

stormcloudchallenge

Today is the reveal for Allegory Gallery‘s Storm Cloud Challenge.  Participants buy a kit and then create things using as much of the kit (and any other supplies) we’d like.  Here is a picture of the kit from the Allegory Gallery Blog.

stomr cloud kit

Andrew also hand makes a Mystery Component that remains a surprise until we receive the kit.  Of course I didn’t get a picture of it, but I used it in this necklace.
BeadLove - Storm Cloud MC necklace

I also used two wooden donuts from the kit and alternated labradorite chip from the kit with some dark red rondelles.  I like how this turned out; the colors reminded me of the Noble Knight challenge kit.

The kits always have special beads I really love, and I want to highlight them. I also often don’t add a lot of outside beads to the kit, but this time I did so that I could have supporting beads that would let the special kit beads shine.  This first necklace uses from the kit: the fabulous faceted plastic drop, four grey/silver crystal beads and the square rhinestone spacer.  I added a fantastic coin bead by Niky Sayers that has been waiting for the right project.  The pendant is strung on waxed linen from the kit and finished off with some beaded chain and a gold filled swirl clasp from Miss Fickle Media. I’m kind of in love with it.

BeadLove - Storm Cloud long Niky Sayers

Often I design things by looking at the picture of the kit and making sketches. Sometimes the designs work, sometimes not.  This time I made 3 out of 4 of my sketches, and the fourth one turned into the Mystery Component necklace.

BeadLove - Storm Cloud designs

I really loved some of the earrings people made for the Mystery Challenge 2, so I made sure to make some for this challenge. I’ve recently gotten interested in set stones and glass. They really make pretty earrings easy, and these fit in perfectly with the color scheme.  I really love these little faceted glass tubes from the kit that I used as dangles. I love the clear/light with the black findings.

BeadLove - Storm cloud dangle earrings

Although I didn’t sketch these next earrings, I was inspired by a photo on Pinterest of earrings by Janine of Esfera Jewelry. I recently got some glass rings in a destash!  Perfect. I used a couple of the diamond shaped cubes from the kit. Super fun.

BeadLove - Storm Cloud ring earrings

I wanted to use some of the craggy plastic “stone” beads from the kit.

BeadLove - Storm Cloud heart necklace

I added them above a gorgeous rustic heart by Jetta Bug Jewelry. I added some beaded chain, fabric (a freebie from Shipwreck Dandy Supply, a favorite shop) and used a white tube bead from the kit as part of the clasp.

BeadLove - Storm Cloud hear necklace full

Another design from my sketches is a bracelet made with more of the labradorite chip, waxed linen, and hex cut seed beads from the kit with an elephant button for the clasp. Very cute.

BeadLove - Storm Cloud elephant bracelet 2

I was so inspired by this kit and had so much fun! Check out what other participants made with their kits on the Allegory Gallery Design Challenges Facebook page. Thank you for another great challenge, Andrew and William!

