Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have two reveals today!  The Tribes Competition Challenge reveal is below.  To see the Luna Moth Challenge reveal, click here.

tribes banner

Today is the reveal for the Allegory Gallery Tribes Competition Challenge. Allegory Gallery hosts challenges with kits curated by artist Andrew Thornton. There are a number of tribes, and we could enter the challenge of as many as we wish. I am participating in two.  First up: Forest.

Forest Tribe Kit

Here is the picture of the Forest Tribe kit from the Allegory Gallery blog.  I love these colors.  In addition, Andrew Thornton includes something he handmakes as a Mystery Component in each kit.  For the Forest Kit it is a gorgeous faux bois pendant.  I absolutely love it, so that was the basis for my design.

BeadLove - Forest Tribe close

Isn’t it gorgeous?  That grain…swoon!  I don’t think it shows well in my picture, but it’s got a bit of metallic highlighting.  I love metallic.  In addition to a few beads from the kit, I accented the pendant with an actual wooden bead by Rich Kibbons.  You can see some of the discs from NadiaTerra.  They are unglazed ceramic and seem to fit this nature theme.  Don’t those little round beads between the disc look like they were from the same set? Nope, they are from the kit!BeadLove - Forest Tribe full

Then I used a few more beads from the kit as a transition – love those long green ones, and alternated green seed beads from the kit with wooden beads from my stash.  I added a toggle clasp from Nunn Design.

I’m pleased with how this came out.  It looks like it’s made up of treasures gathered during a walk in the forest.

I also joined the Grove Tribe.  Here is a picture of the kit from the Allegory Gallery blog.

grove tribe kit

I was originally focused on that lemon.  I love it!  But that will wait for another project.  When I got started making my necklace, I wanted to use the mystery component, hand made by Andrew, featuring a grove of trees, and make a multi strand piece.

BeadLove Grove close

I was going to have three strands, but it ended up as two. I used some yellow flowers, green leaves and small crystals from my stash along with beads from the kit. I love those long green beads from the kit!

BeadLove Grove full3

I was conflicted about the theme of my necklace – a grove of trees like Andrew’s pendant, a flower grove, a fruit grove?  In the end, I included elements from all of those.  A bit muddled, but I like the happy colorfulness of it.

Thanks for visiting.  To see more Tribe Competition Challenge creations, visit the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge Facebook page.

 

