Tags

, , , , ,

I have two reveals today!  The Luna Moth reveal is below.  To see the Tribes Competition Challenge Reveal, click here.

lunamothchallenge

Today is the reveal for the Allegory Gallery Luna Moth Challenge.  Look at those gorgeous colors in the picture above.  I’m a green gal, and the soft green of the luna moth is really beautiful.  Here is a picture of the challenge kit from the Allegory Gallery blog.

Luna Moth Kit

Andrew also hand makes a Mystery Component for each kit. Below is a picture of his lovely luna moth pendant.

IMG_9629 (1)

I’ve really been enjoying the look of chip beads lately, so I decided to use the jade chip  separated by bronze seed beads with a beautiful pendant by Vincenza Fazz of Earthly Beads.  I added a couple of the glass crow beads and two of the fabulous rough wooden beads from the kit.

BeadLove - Luna Moth V. Fazz full

Next I turned to some of the luscious donut beads in the kit. They made me think of the beautiful clay and glass donut beads by Kristie Roeder of Artisan Clay.

BeadLove - Luna Moth K. Roeder

I used a strand of faceted agate separated by seed beads from the kit.  A few other beads from the kit are in the strand, including some lovely soft green discs surrounding teal glass from my stash I used to connect to that beautiful color in the pendant.  This photo in no way does any of these beads justice! I added the remaining two wooden sticks from the kit as dangles near the pendant. I used a copper woodland toggle that felt right since the picture in my head with this kit is the woods from the book Girl of the Limberlost, which was part of the inspiration.

There were two leaf dangles in the kit that I liked, and I considered various designs.  Earrings won.  I also used green crystals from the kit and some big vintage paper beads from my stash.

BeadLove - Luna Moth earrings

I had a lot more ideas inspired by this kit, but no more time!  They will have to wait for another day.  But I had a great time, as I do with all the Allegory Gallery kits.  Visit the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge Facebook page in order to view the other participant creations.

 

