Tags

, , ,

Recently I wrote about buying lots from Andrew Thornton‘s destashes that are almost ready made for a project; I see a design before I even get them.  He’s got the artist’s eye!  I got another lot that I intended to use all together.  Here is the picture of it that Andrew posted:

LPA lot

Photo by Andrew Thornton

I love the vintage plastic that he sometimes has and also stocks at Allegory Gallery.  These juicy nuggets were perfect for the Lisa Peters Russ pendant.

BeadLove - LPA sketchI originally intended to use the seed beads as a tassel, however, they were a little small. I’m a lazy designer, and when they didn’t easily fit on the 4-ply waxed linen I had, I came up with another idea that I think is even better anyway. I also decided that with this design, I would turn the pendant the other way.

BeadLove LPA garnet necklaceI regularly come up with some of my best designs based on stuff that happens to be on my work table because I tried it with another project.  Instead of doing any wire work with the plastic, I used these rough garnets.  I absolutely love their contrast with the smooth plastic.  I used chain dangles, some Czech glass, and a Green Girl Studios clasp (that I think I also got from Andrew). Love how this turned out!  Designers are often asked about their inspiration.  Mine is great materials, especially if they are already grouped together for me.  Thanks, Andrew!

