Tags

, ,

starlingwingchallenge

Allegory Gallery hosts wonderful challenges with kits they sell in their shop.  Artist Andrew Thornton curates the kits based on some inspiration.  This time it was the gorgeous colors in a bird he saw at his bird feeder.  The rich colors in this kit are so lovely.  Here is the snap from the Allegory Gallery blog.

Allegory Gallery Starling Wing Kit

Andrew also includes a handmade Mystery Component.  This time it is a gorgeous starling pendant.  Look at how he captured all those lovely colors!

Starling Wing Mystery Component

My frist piece used this pendant, some of the waxed linen, part of the strand of blackstone chip, and various other beads from the kit.  I added some olive green Czech glass.  The base of the pendant looks grey in my pictures, but it is really a gorgeous iridescent green. I quite like how the colors have come together.  Even the aluminum chain at back has a slight purple color.

BeadLove - Starling Wing MC necklace

I’ve started making earrings once in while after a hiatus, and kits are a great time to challenge myself to make some.  There are always wonderful beads for it.  This pair is quite simple, but I love their elegance.  I always love flower beads. I have to get more ear wires.  I never have the right color!

BeadLove - Starling Wing earrings

This started out as a necklace, but after some work, it ended up as a bracelet. This delicate type is difficult to photograph, so floppy!

BeadLove - Starling Wing bracelet

The next necklace started out to be something totally different than the final product, but you know how that goes.  Once it turned a corner, I decided to practice my macramé skills. I find I’m not good at macramé because I have attention span problems.  I can’t remember where I am in the process and make wrong or too many or two few knots as I go along.  I think this turned out ok.

BeadLove - Starling Wing copper necklace

I used a copper stamped pendant and muted green bead with gold by Andrew Thornton.  The green rounds and metal beads are also from my stash.  The flower dangles, large grey seed beads (love!), faceted bead, and purple tubes are from the kit.

These wonderful kits never fail to inspire me! To see what other participants made, visit the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge Facebook page. Thanks Andrew and William!

