Tags

, , , , , ,

12439338_10205770166919811_6368950317528313823_n

Lisa Lodge hosts fun challenges and blog hops through her Pine Ridge Treasures: Beads and More page on Facebook.  Today is the reveal for the Gentle Spring Blog Hop and Challenge.

I’m not sure if spring here is particularly gentle.  I live in Wisconsin, and there is a lot of switching between rain, wind and drear, a little sun and warmth, snow and sleet, and tornado warnings.  But, the kit I got from Lisa is what I wish spring were like.  Full of beautiful plums and lilacs, there was no end to the inspiration.

Gentle Spring kit

One thing that came to mind is a Kim Snider butterfly wing bead.  That link is to her etsy shop, but check out her Mandrel Beads page on Facebook where she has great trunk shows.

A butterfly wing seemed so perfect for the theme, and I needed some beads from my stash to take the bits of purple in the wing and make it go with all the beautiful purples in the kit.  I thought of a disc bead from Humblebeads. First of all, what doesn’t a Humblebeads disc make better, and second, Heather Powers has made some of my favorite necklaces combining her disc beads with Kim Snider wings. The disc combined purple with some browns and golds of the wing.  Then I decided to use some purple and blue vintage glass beads I’ve been saving for something special.

BeadLove - Gentle Spring wing necklace 2

I knotted them with a variety of beads from the kit.  I think this necklace came together beautifully for a very Gentle Spring look.

I had to use some of the great metal Lisa included.  The bird on a branch charms needed to be earrings, and I thought they would be perfect with the large square crystals included in the kit.

BeadLove - Gentle Spring bird earrings

So cute!  I always love to hear the singing birds on early spring mornings.

I’m making an attempt to use some of my art beads, and I knew my Artybecca stash would have some nice spring colors.  I found this bead with a nice periwinkle strip; the texture reminds me of a carrot!

BeadLove - Gentle Spring Artybecca necklace

I knotted some of the light purple beads from the kit alternating with periwinkle beads from my stash.  With the pendant, I used a couple of the kit bicones with an orange bead to bring that color out of the pendant.  I made a dangle with a few beads, including one of the frosted glass squares from the kit.

Green Girl Studios also makes me think of spring.  I had a butterfly pendant that is perfect!

BeadLove - Gentle Spring Green Girl

I used most of the rest of the plum bicones and the light purple beads from the kit.  I added in other spring colors and a fun dangle repurposed from an old earring.  I finished it all off with the butterfly toggle clasp from the kit.

I still have a ton of beads from this kit to keep bringing spring into my life no matter what the weather does! Thank you, Lisa!  Please have a look at what spring beauties the other participants made by visiting the links below.

Your hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist

Kim Dworak, Cianci Blue

Shaiha Williams, Shaiha’s Ramblings

Gloria Allen, Gloria Allen Designs

Saundra Farren, Something by Saundra

Ann Schroeder, Bead Love – You are here

Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes

Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations

Becky Pancake, Becky Pancake Bead Designs

Chris Eisenberg, Wanderware

