Tags

, , , , , ,

Allegory Gallery hosts the Inspired by Reading Book Club challenges.  We post creations on the group Facebook page inspired by what we read.  This month’s book is A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter.  I liked this book more than I thought I would.  At first I thought it was hokey, but in the end, the story and Elnora, the main character, really appealed to me.  Elnora is a young woman who is driven, knows her own mind and is “…resolved to act in that manner, which will, in my own opinion, constitute my happiness…” as another favorite literary heroine, Elizabeth Bennett, declares.  In many of the same ways as Bennett, Elnora is what I consider quite a feminist for the time (or really for any time).  She insists on going to school and finding a way to do so.  She enters into a romance with quite a clear head and on her own terms.

Moths are a huge part of the story.  Elnora pays her way through high school by catching moths to mount and sell to collectors.  I knew I had a moth piece in my stash.  I thought it was a pendant that I would make into a necklace surrounded by leaves, flowers and other bits of nature that play a big part in Elnora’s life. When I found it was darker more muted colors than I thought and a button rather than a pendant, I made a bracelet instead.

BeadLove - Girl of the Limberlost

The moth button is by Hidden Ridge Studio, which I can’t find exists any more. I got a few things from that etsy shop about a year ago and really loved them. I think the artist actually lived in my state of Wisconsin, but the shop has disappeared.  I love the folk art look of this button.  I knotted it on thick waxed linen in a plain color that reminded me of the parts early on in the book when Elnora was out of place in the city school with her country clothes.  It was also thick enough for the bigger holes in the manik-manik lampwork glass.  I’m in love with the forest green color.  I used seed beads that are really more the magenta color of the moth wings than the picture shows for the loop of the clasp.

I’m pleased with this bracelet.  It is simple, straight forward and beautiful, all qualities shared by Elnora.  Thank you to Andrew Thornton and William Jones of Allegory Gallery for hosting these challenges.  Not only do I get to read books I might not otherwise have, but I get to challenge my creativity as well.  Please visit the Facebook page to see what others have created!

