Tags

, , , , , ,

HiddenCoveChallenge

Allegory Gallery hosts challenges with beautiful and inspiring kits curated by artist Andrew Thornton.  Today is the reveal for the Hidden Cove Challenge. Here is a picture of the kit from the blog post because I never remember any more to take my own.

hidden cove kit

There are so many beads I love in this kit! I used some of them, but I didn’t get to use the three wooden half rounds.  They are gorgeous and certain to be bound for a special project.  My first idea was to use the Mystery Component, a beautiful mermaid pendant handmade by Andrew, with lots of dangling blue beads to look like water, but nothing I tried in that vein worked out.  Instead, I used one of the beads I loved, the Czech glass square, to highlight the pendant along with chain from My Elements in that same bright, beautiful turquoise.

BeadLove - Hidden Cove MC

I feel I’ve almost got the look I was going for anyway with the way Andrew’s mermaid is floating up toward that blue.

Next, I used some fabulous sea glass beads. They didn’t seem like glass to me. Were they really faux glass made from polymer? They are absolutely beautiful and have a wonderful texture.  I built a little cairn with them.  I don’t think I knew that word before seeing the image and explanation of it on Erin Prais-Hintz’s Treasures Found blog post a few years ago. I love that image of the stacked stones and the fact that it means something, whether to mark a memory, site or parts of one’s life.

BeadLove - Hidden Cove sea glass full

I used a few of the dangles I had originally thought of for the Mystery Component and put it on the wonderful cotton cord.  I wanted to show this full picture because I used a favorite swirl clasp from Miss Fickle Media. I wanted to also show a better close up of the pendant.

BeadLove - Hidden Cove sea glass pendant

I also wanted to use the fabulous large vintage acrylic bead. I found a vintage pendant bar in my stash that I thought would help highlight it nicely.  I added a few more favorite beads from the kit as dangles and some vintage chain.

BeadLove - Hidden Cove plastic bead

And last but not least, there were two blue organic rounds that seem like polymer that I loved and decided to make a rare pair of earrings with them.  A challenge over on Earrings Everyday got me making earrings again, so I might as well continue. I also used up the last two dangles I had already made.  I hate to waste a headpin!

BeadLove - Hidden Cove earrings

I feel like the theme of this challenge influenced the style – simple for warm weather fun by the water.  I still have so many wonderful beads left to use in the future!  Thanks you Andrew and William of Allegory Gallery for another great challenge.  Visit the Facebook page to see what other people made with their kits.

