Tags

, , ,

The Art Bead Scene blog challenges artists to use an inspiration artwork to make something with an art bead.  The March inspiration is the oil painting “Still Life with Pussy Willows” by Taisia K. Afonina.

Afonina-Taisia-Still-life-with-Pussy-Willows-per02bw

I liked this painting immediately.  The colors are beautiful, the subject matter is really happy and comforting to me, and I had an easy time thinking of an art bead to use.  Quite a while ago I got a pussy willow pendant from Erin Prais-Hintz of Tesori Trovati.  Erin makes a piece every month inspired by the ABS artwork for her Simple Truths Sampler Club.  As a member of the club, I was thrilled that the March piece is a different pussy willow pendant. I love when I can use my art beads and have them too!

BeadLove ABS March with Tesori Trovati

I had actually made this pendant into a necklace before, but I found I never wore it, and it was just waiting in my “take it apart” box to be made into something that would get more love.  The challenge was perfect! At first I tried to keep an element that I liked about the first necklace – tiny grey rice pearl dangles that echoed the pussy willows. When I finally stopped holding onto that, I was able to move forward with the necklace, inspired by this painting, the pendant was meant to be.

I used a silver bead with branches and leaves above the pendant.  Before I started looking at beads, I wanted to focus on the silver of the teapot and the blue of the cups (teal or cobalt depending on the device I’m looking at.)  When I was looking at my stash, I started to gravitate toward wood like the stalks of the pussy willow. To me, the scene could be very elegant or shabby chic.  That is left to the mind of the viewer.  I am more comfortable with a slightly more earthy interpretation, so I went with some sandalwood beaded chain, Czech glass knotted on waxed linen, including the teal I liked, and a Green Girl Studios floral clasp.

This is a very comfortable necklace to wear, and I love that this beautiful pendant will be seeing the light of day more often.  Check out what other designers made based on this inspiration painting on the Art Bead Scene Pinterest page.

