Tags

, , , ,

Allegory Gallery has monthly design challenges, and today is the reveal for the Cloud Bridge Challenge.

cloudbridgechallenge

In case the above picture doesn’t give it away, this kit was inspired by the Pantone colors of the year for 2016 – rose quartz and serenity.  Artist Andrew Thornton puts these wonderful kits together, and includes a fun Mystery Component he makes himself.

CloudBridgeKitandMCPM

Kit photo by Andrew Thornton

The inspiration for my first piece was this bracelet from the Rings & Things blog. The post was about dapping metal.  The components looked like bead caps, and I thought it would be cool to make a bracelet using bead caps.  Then I saw blue and pink vintage glass bead caps in a newsletter from Bumbershoot Supplies, and I was in business.

BeadLove - Cloud Bridge bracelet

I thought I would add one other color, but I ended up adding more – green, turquoise and gold.  The chain and clasp are silver.  The bracelet has a different look than I first envisioned, but I really like it.  I wanted to make it very full, and I can tell it is by how many beads I know are on this bracelet that are covered up by other beads in the photo.  I’m sure this will be pleasing to wear with all of the beads jangling on it as I move making it look different all the time.

Cloud Bridge MC necklace

Next I made a necklace with the Mystery Component that Andrew made.  I tried a variety of designs, but the pendant made of the Mystery Component, one of the cool see-through blue glass beads from the kit and a textured silver ring, rejected them all in favor of simplicity.  I found this grey cotton cord in my stash.  I had never seen this cord before Andrew included it in a couple of his kits.  Now I love it and want it in every color! It allows this necklace to be light and airy, just like the inspiration of clouds and feathers.

Cloud Bridge with tin necklace

I’ve recently started to experiment with my new(ish) disc cutter and had been cutting the lid of a pretty tin with a lot of pink. I decided to cut three different sized discs and make a pendant for a beaded chain necklace with beads from the kit and my stash. I used baby blue (a.k.a. serenity) craft wire.

There are a ton of great beads left over from this kit! I continue to be excited to explore ways of working with this color combination and expect to be using many of them in the coming year. Thank you Andrew and William of Allegory Gallery for continuing these challenges!  Please visit the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge Facebook page to see what other participants made with their kits.

