Tags

,

When I first became interested in art beads, I would see a new artist and become absolutely obsessed until I could get some of her work, or at least knew where to find it.  I remember several times seeing the cutest tin bead caps and being enchanted. I couldn’t tell who had made them.  Finally I saw someone refer to them as Tin Snippets and then found out they were by Lorelei Eurto.  I was even able to buy her tutorial about how to make them!

So I began collecting pretty tins.

tin

And my family began giving them to me.

tins2

I finally bought a disc cutter when there was a good sale.

disc cutter

And after letting it sit in the box for a while, I finally tried it.

cut discs

I had a wooden dapping block, but it didn’t have the right size holes, so I bought a metal one (yes, on sale!)

domer

This picture is the perfect representation of my impatience.  The dapping block arrived today.  Did I take all the parts out and clean off the anti-rust coating of grease and set up my dapping station?  Heck no!  I cleaned just what I needed to and got out just enough punches to find the ones that fit my cut discs.  I wanted to try it out right away!

bead caps pink side

bead caps green side

I even tried making a double sided component.  True to my sizing skills, I decided those smaller bead caps would be way too small (without bothering to get out a bead – what?) so I made the nice big ones.  If I want to use them, I’ll need to buy bigger beads!  The small ones (as recommended in Lorelei’s ebook) are just right for my average bead.

My experiments need some work, and I think this weekend I’ll set up a nice metal working area in my studio.  But I’m excited to get started on what I believe will be a very fun tin journey.  I have at least one more tutorial working with tin.  I really love tin as a material to use in beading.  This is going to be fun!

