Tags

, , ,

The inspiration for the Art Bead Scene challenge for January is Landscape with Stars by Henri-Edmond Cross, watercolor over graphite on paper.

stars

I have to admit that I usually participate in the Art Bead Scene challenge when the inspiration piece gives me an almost fully formed idea right away.  I find when I spend a lot of time designing a piece, I end up not really liking it. Although I love this starry sky, the colors didn’t inspire me much.  Then I thought why not try; it is supposed to be a challenge after all.  So looked at my art beads and made five sketches for possible necklaces.

ABS Jan sketches

The first sketch on this front page is the one I decided to make with a few changes.  I actually think I’ll make the bottom necklace at some point as well.

ABS JAN close Thea

I chose this fabulous moon gazing hare pendant by Lesley Watt of THEA Elements. I think it fits well with the night sky in the picture, and I added some stars and iolite dangles to also reference the sky.

I am often loathe to use the strands of gemstones I buy. Many of you know how I feel, but I unclenched and used a strand of citrine I got at a bead show from Dakota Stones last year.

BeadLove Thea Elements necklace full

Visit Art Bead Scene on Pinterest to see what jewelry and beads other people have created inspired by the same painting.

