Tags

,

My brother-in-law is one of my favorite artists.  I have multiple of his abstract, mixed media drawings adorning the walls of my house.  Here is the most recent one; I got it for my birthday.

Steve's bday pic

He’s a good sport too; family members impose upon him to draw on various items (shoes, boxes, bags) and in this case, a stone pendant.  Quite a while ago I bought some drilled beach stones from Allybeans. I asked my brother-in-law to draw on one of them to give it more interest.  I originally used it in a cute necklace, but it wasn’t well constructed, and I ended up taking it apart to use some of the beads. For some reason, the pendant popped into my head the other day and I thought I should make a tassel to go with it.

Steve's pendant

I knew I had the perfect bead cap for the tassel – this lampwork beauty by Tanya McGuire in metallic brown/black/grey.  I used a Tanya McGuire black and red disc above the stone and then knotted small hematite and larger black beads repurposed from a necklace I took apart.  I love it!

