Tags

, , , , , ,

The inspiration this month for the Art Bead Scene Challenge is “Paris”, a 1951 oil on canvas by Maria Helena Vieira de Silva.

DEC ABS inspiration

Initially, I thought I had the perfect beads to start my design, grey squares outlined in brown.  As I got out more beads to go with those, I had an experience similar to Heather Powers of Humblebeads.  Looking at a grouping of lampwork beads by Susan Kennedy of SueBeads that I got out, it seemed I had stumbled upon the perfect combination of beads even though I had something else in mind.

DEC ABS 1

At first they were just going to be accent beads, but they called out to be the focal point of what I thought would be a necklace.  I spied some beaded chain from Shipwreck Dandy Supply that has just been waiting for the right project.  I used stamped silver spacers with the lampwork to make dangles from the chain. I thought I’d use a variety of fibers to make the back of the necklace, but as I was thinking about that, it became clear to me that it was a bracelet. I knew I would like the way it hangs better as a bracelet, so clasp added – done!

DEC ABS 2

This bracelet is very fun, and I love the color combination.  Thanks ABS, SueBeads and Shipwreck Dandy Supply!  Have a look at what other jewelry and beads people made inspired by the same painting.

