Tags

, , ,

Today is the day for the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge – Evergreen edition! Artist Andrew Thornton puts together fabulous bead kits, and we get to see what all the participants make starting with the same materials. Here is Andrew’s photo of the Evergreen kit.

evergreen kit

Andrew also always includes a Mystery Component he makes himself.  This time it was a pendant with gorgeous, shimmery evergreen frond pattern.

Evergreen MC

I love the colors and materials of this kit.  I was thrilled with the two full strands of beads!  I used those first in a triple strand necklace.  For the third strand, I used two colors of green Czech glass beads.  From the kit, I also used silver daisy spacers and some cotton cord.

Evergreen three strand

I wish the strands were spaced better.  I will probably take it apart at some point, but I do like how it looks in general.  I’m bound and determined to get multi-strand necklaces right, either by loosening up and not caring if they strands cross over each other (I never mind it when I see it on other people) or by getting the strands to lay right.

Next, I made something really blingy!  I’m usually a bohemian gal, but I saw this amazing tassel. I decided to try something like that. Mine isn’t quite full enough, but I like it anyway.  I used both beads from the kit and my stash in the necklace and tassel. Making this was so fun! Now I need to go to a party.

evergreen fancy tassel

I often make things using whatever is laying out on my work table.  To me, that means there are a million good ways to use my materials.  That helps me be creative because I’m not going to use anything the “wrong” way.  No such thing. This necklace turned out to be my favorite.

Evergreen black and copperI had this black and white African glass bead and these smaller black and white beads on my table waiting to be put away.  I used beads from the kit to make dangles and and a couple of disks from the kit with the African bead.  I loved how copper looked with the green and black, so I incorporated that as well.

The blog hops are changing to have people post their reveals in the Facebook group Allegory Gallery Design Challenges. It’s a public group, so you can pop over and check out what other people post.  Have fun!

