Tags

, , , , , , ,

The October selection for Andrew Thornton‘s Inspired by Reading Book Club is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.  This is the third time I’ve read the book, and it was good each time.  That’s saying something!

missperegrine_334x518

The book is about teenager Jacob Portman and his journey to discover the truth about the strange stories his grandfather told him as a child as well as the unusual and frightening circumstances surrounding his grandfather’s death. Jacob learns about a mysterious parallel world and his own power.

In the past, I had a very narrow view of what was acceptable for me to use as inspiration.  How could I use a negative image or association in the book to make something I want to be beautiful?  But then I saw Andrew’s necklace for Swamplandia!,and I really loved it.  He included a whistle, which has a negative association in the book.  Andrew took something ugly and made it beautiful.

So this time I allowed the hollowgast to be my inspiration because that is the first idea I had when I thought about beads in association with the book.

Miss Peregrine necklace

I was originally just going to make something with spike beads to represent the horrible hollowgast tongues.  Then on reading further, I decided to also use a tooth based on their ghastly teeth that always show in a evil, snarling smile. From left, the spikes are from Marsha Neal Studio, Second Surf and Scorched Earth on Etsy. I believe the tooth is from a coyote.

This was a really fun project because I feel like I stretched my creativity, and this necklace looks very cute on despite the fact that it was inspired by a terrifying hollowgast!  Please visit the Allegory Gallery blog to see what others were inspired to make.

 

