Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today is a dual reveal for Andrew Thornton‘s Allegory Gallery Design Challenges – Last Harvest and Gold Dust.

PM last harv gold dust

Let’s start with Last Harvest. I absolutely love the colors in this kit.  It looks exactly like fall to me, my favorite season.  Here is Andrew’s picture of the gorgeous kit:

AndrewThorntonslastharvestkit

I don’t know what happened to my organization around this kit.  I didn’t take any pictures of it or of the Mystery Component, a handmade treat Andrew includes with the kits but doesn’t publicly reveal until a later date.  But I did use it right away, so you’ll get to see it.

BeadLove LH chip 2Everything in this necklace is from the kit except the jump rings and the clasp! I used the gorgeous iridescent leafy pendant (the Mystery Component), a variety of beads including the full strand of carnelian chip and the waxed linen.  I love it; it looks like the sound of walking through a pile of leaves.

I made a second necklace with – guess what – a tassel!  I just find making beaded tassels so meditative.  It’s like relaxation therapy.  I used one of the craggy glass beads from the kit with a couple of orange and white Tin Snippets bead caps by Lorelei Eurto.  Perfect!

BeadLove LH tassel necklace

I strung it on a piece of the sari silk ribbon from the kit.  Look at all those gorgeous colors – it looks like an autumn sunset.  Sometimes I worry when I use ribbon because it is so light, but the glass bead and tassel are heavy enough to make it hang very nicely.

Now for Gold Dust, a special challenge in addition to the regular monthly challenge kits.

PM gold dust kit and MCI rarely used gold before joining Andrew’s challenges, but just by including it, he taught me to like it.  By the time we got to this kit, I loved it. I think it can be so romantic, so that’s how I went with my first piece.

BeadLove Gold Dust Skye Jewels necklace

I decided to use the vintage lucite drop and cluster the gold flowers around it.  I used a handmade patina headpin from Eden Art Glass.  I wanted to use some sort of striking bead from my stash above the drop.  I found this lovely tile by Marie-Noel Voyer of More Skye Jewels.  It felt so perfect!  When I first saw it, I planned to use filigree with it, but I didn’t have the right size.  Luckily I had two gold bails to use instead.

For the rest of the necklace, I braided sari silk ribbon from the kit with sari silk cord from a great shop called Artwear Elements.  In the back of the necklace, I used vintage crystal chain. The crystals are slightly blue, one of the colors in the tile pendant.

I loved the strand of faceted pyrite in the kit, so I wanted to use that.  I was inspired by a necklace on my Pinterest page to make a multi-strand piece with some dangles.

Gold Dust triple strand

It is so difficult for me to get the spacing right on multi-strand necklaces, but I finally did using tiny sterling-wrapped ruby chain on top, then the pyrite mixed with some Czech glass and seed beads in the middle, and vintage glass dangles with pearls from the kit on the bottom strand.  I wish I had kept all the pyrite in the middle of the second strand for a more luxe gold look, but I can always restring it later.

These were two more wonderful kits and challenges from Andrew!  All of Andrew’s kits really inspire me; I am truly grateful for how these challenges help me grow.  I had so much fun!  Please visit Andrew’s blog to see what other lucky participants made with their kits.

