Tags

, , , ,

braveangelchallenge

Today is the reveal for the most recent of Andrew Thornton‘s Allegory Gallery Design Challenges – Brave Angel.  This is a special challenge, meaning it is in addition to the monthly challenges he hosts.  He designed this challenge to bring awareness to breast cancer prevention, research and treatment.  Cancer, including breast cancer, has touched people in my life as well, so I’m happy to bring attention to this cause.  Here is Andrew’s picture of the kit:

braveangelAndrewThornton

Andrew also always includes a Mystery Component, a handmade element he makes for the kit and keeps secret until its public reveal.  I feel like it was difficult to capture the delicate beauty of this glowing, winged pink heart.

BA MC

First I made a spangle bracelet.  Andrew’s kits lend themselves well to this design with the variety of beads.  I added a few from my stash and made a pretty, fun to wear bracelet.

BeadLove - BA spangle bracelet

I wanted to find a way to use the cotton cord and ended up making this simple bracelet.  It looks so cute on!  The number plaque is from the Tim Holtz line.  I like a lot of his scrapbooking items for jewelry uses.

BeadLove - BA cotton cord bracelet

I also made a necklace.  I used some of the sari silk as a tassel.  I made a pendant from one of the beautiful faceted pink beads, a carved bead and a lovely shell bead. Then I used a mix of beads from the kit and beads in my stash to knot around the rest of the necklace.

BA necklace

Andrew offered the idea of auctioning off our creations to donate the money to a charity of our choice.  I am far too paranoid to sell anything I make.  I have this fear that somewhere along the line – in the mail, when the person first touches it or first wears it – it will practically disintegrate due to some design flaw.  So rather than put myself through that anxiety, I will just make my own donation. I also encourage you to visit Andrew’s page to look at all the other creations and see what they’ve made and might be auctioning.  Andrew is auctioning his creations and donating the proceeds to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.

Thank you, Andrew, for another wonderful kit and challenge and bringing awareness to an important health issue.

