Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have lived in Wisconsin in various cities most of my life.  I love so many things about this state – the four distinct seasons, the casual, friendly atmosphere wherever I go, and the art!  I think many people feel that way about their home state, and that’s nice.

When my interest in art beads began, I was fascinated with how many great bead artists are in Wisconsin!  Right here, under my nose, but it took the internet to introduce me to most of them.  I thought it would be fun to highlight a few of my favorites.

Erin Prais-Hintz is an amazing artist.  She writes moving blog posts, makes wonderful beads, gorgeous jewelry and inspiring drawings.  I am a member of her Simple Truths Sampler Club and receive an art bead/beads from her each month.  Here are some of Erin’s beads I am hoarding.

TesoriTrovatisari

Tesori Trovati

Mary Cullinan is the artist behind Jubilee, and I am in love with her colorful raku beads.  Here is a sample of her beads and a necklace I made with one of her house beads.

Jubilee                                                DEC ABS

Kylie Parry is one of those artists whose work sells out quickly, so I don’t always get what I want.  But I treasure what I have.  Here are a couple of her beads in my collection.

KPMountain

KylieParrykeyhole

Cathy Lybarger of Aardvark Art Glass has amazing sculptural beads.  My knowledge of her work actually pre-dated my education about art beads.  She had a shop near the now closed Jade Mountain Beads.  My boss from a previous job and I spent many lunch hours in those shops.  Below is a necklace I made with one of her mask beads many, many years ago, and a cactus bead I bought recently at a bead show here in Madison.

facefull

CactusAardvarkArtGlass

Donna Millard is a great lampwork artist who also makes lovely vintage tin bead caps and other components that I love.  You’ll have to rely on the links, because I don’t own any of her work…yet.

This is by no means an exhaustive list, just a few favorites that came to mind. Let me know if you have a favorite Wisconsin bead artist – listed here or not – or if you have a favorite artist from your own area.

