Tags

, , , ,

I might be addicted to labradorite.  I realized this when the drawer I keep it in became difficult to close.  Granted, it’s not a big drawer.  It is in this little wooden chest.  But it seems excessive that every time I open and then try to close the drawer, the baggies of labradorite pop out like they are trying to escape.

So, when I missed out on the labradorite-inspired Warrior Stone kit from Andrew Thornton’s Allegory Gallery Design Challenge series, I decided to challenge myself to use some of my labradorite beads prior to the reveal of that challenge. The reveal is September 10th, so it’s right around the corner.

It doesn’t take much to make labradorite look good; it is such a beautiful stone. I added a Green Girl Studios large mystic link as a focal, some small ruby jade rondelles as spacers and strung it all on waxed linen.

gg and lab

I like the chunkiness of it.  This certainly cleared out a bit of space in my labradorite drawer since these are some of the bigger beads I have.  You can see a bit of the flash better in the picture below.

gg lab 2I do like how this turned out.  It’s simple, but still kind of a statement piece with the bold focal and large, faceted labradorite.  Plus, I kept my promise to use some beads!  If you like labradorite, visit Andrew’s blog on September 10th [note: the reveal has been delayed until 9/17/15] to see what the lucky people who snagged the kits made with them.

