Tags

, , ,

imageThe August book in Andrew Thornton‘s Inspired by Reading Book Club is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  Here is the lovely thing about a book club.  I started to read this book when it first came out, but didn’t get very far. Encouraged to read further because of the book club, I was treated to a plethora of visual inspiration, interesting (and some likable) characters and a magical world worth reading about.

For my necklace, I went with the obvious black and white theme of the circus. These specific white beads, with their AB coating, made me think of the beauty and sparkle of the Ice Garden.  I used one red jump ring in the front as a nod to the dreamers who followed the circus.  (I’m typing this on my phone, and it won’t let me use the French word!)

One thing I didn’t like about the book was how much it moved back and forth in time.  Even though it gave the date at the beginning of each chapter, I know I still missed what might have been important information (this is happening before/after this) because I’m just not good with dates and time.  I thought the death of Herr Thiessen happened the same night Bailey was going to run away with the circus to be with Poppet.  Reading further, I found Bailey’s journey was a year later.  I’m not sure why the constantly shifting time was necessary except perhaps to make us feel off balance and question our senses much the way the circus affected attendees (and even sometimes performers and others involved.)

The ending of the novel, after Bailey agreed to run the circus, felt a little tacked on.  I kept expecting it to end – after this, after this – and it could have been much more dramatic had it done so at different points.  I did like how the ending came back around to the beginning; it just felt like it took the long road home!

Please visit Andrew Thornton’s blog to see what other participants were inspired to make or click on the links below:

