Tags

, , , , , , , ,

flora tones

Lisa Lodge is hosting the Flora Tones Challenge, and the reveal is today.  The actual reveal is on Lisa’s Facebook page Pine Ridge Treasures: Beads and More. But I always like to have my creations do double duty and get a blog post out of it!

Pink and green is one of my favorite color combinations, so I could not pass up a challenge based on the Design Seeds palette above.  I got a great variety of beads in my kit.

Flora Tones Challenge KitThe first thing I made is a bracelet in a style popularized by Lorelei Eurto. She had a tutorial for it in the May 2014 issue of Bead Style magazine.

FH bracelet 3I used the pink flowers, the purple teardrop shaped beads, green bicones and pink seeds beads from the kit.  I strung it on waxed linen and used a few bigger beads and a link from my stash along with four Hamilton gold spacers and three pink anodized jump rings.

Next I wanted to make a necklace.  The bead selection gave me lots of ideas.  In the end, this is what I made.

FH necklace GaeaI used the large pink faceted beads from the kit and added in some rose and green English cut Czech glass, and made a pendant from three Gaea beads.  I really like how it turned out; it’s chunky, yet delicate.

I wanted to make one more thing, and as I was reading my regular blogs, I figured out what.  I get a lot of ideas from Halcraft, and I had been wanting to make a necklace like these featured in Denise Yezbak Moore’s recent post.

FT DYM necklace PMI used some of the purple teardrops at the bottom and some of the pink seed beads.  I didn’t get as much of an ombre look as I was going for, but I think it’s quite pretty.  I love the gentle swishy feeling of it on.

I quite enjoyed the Flora Tones challenge and still have lots of beads leftover to make more treasures.  Thank you, Lisa!

 

