Tags

I have my beads and supplies separated into like item in smallish boxes.  I’ve been refining this system as I go along.  Early on, I had some larger boxes that I just dumped random stuff into, but I didn’t realize I had any of those left.

Today I was in my studio looking for something, and I saw a larger box under several smaller boxes.  It wasn’t labeled, which is unusual.  I opened it up and lo and behold it was one of the random boxes from days gone by – buried treasure!

box 'o treasuresIt has all kinds of things.  In addition to realizing it was there so that I can rehome the beads and supplies to where they actually go, another benefit is that removing the large box will make room for several smaller boxes.  I like the smaller boxes because it is easier to find things.  Here is a closer look at some of what was in the box ‘o treasures.

treasures closeThere were several cards of really good buttons, some nice bone and metal, including something that looks like it has Mykonos patina.  I found some old sugar beads, a bunch of filigree and a bag of clasps.  I never have enough clasps.  There were even some art beads.  That bag with the orange and red beads has little rolled metal beads by Staci Florer!  Those turquoise drops in the bag of silver are old beads from an ankle bracelet I bought at an antique store or flea market a million years ago.  I’ve had so many ideas for those drops; now when I choose one, I’ll know where to find them. There are a few African beads and a bag of pretty furnace glass.

When I started beading, furnace glass was a favorite of mine.  Although it is no longer as popular as it once was, I have been collecting it recently to make a necklace like one I saw about 25 years ago.  It would be fun to see it now; it’s probably nothing like what I remember.  But I believe it was made of furnace glass, and at the time I thought it was the most beautiful necklace I had ever seen.  This bag is some of the prettiest I have now for that project.

Although a lot of this is older stuff from my pre-art bead days, it will still come in handy.  You never know what will come in handy from your stash or when.

 

