Tags

, , , , , ,

It is time for another fun and fabulous Allegory Gallery Design Challenge reveal!

EndlessSkyChallengeArtist Andrew Thornton is the host for these challenges as well as the curator of the kits.  In his post about this kit, he said lately his initial inspiration is a gemstone: in this case aquamarine, one of my favorites!  He built on that by drawing on the various shades of blue skies he has seen.  The result is this lovely kit, including his beautiful, handmade cloud pendant.

Endless Sky KitThe first thing I wanted to use was the aquamarine chip.  I thought about what Andrew wrote on his blog regarding different skies.  I wanted to capture the varied colors the sky sometimes gets that makes you stop and take a long look.

Endless Sky chipWith the aquamarine, I combined labradorite, amethyst, larimar, green hair quartz and aventurine.  I didn’t quite get the look I was going for, but I think it’s pretty!  I used one of the large quartz beads and some dangles I had put on chain that hadn’t gotten used in another project but were still sitting on my table looking perfect for this one.

Next I wanted to use the beautiful Mystery Component – Andrew’s handmade cloud pendant.  It has several blues with a gold rimmed cloud (not just a silver lining, but gold!) covered in resin.  Really detailed and lovely.

Endless Sky MCSimple wire wrapped chain is one of my favorite looks.  Because it allows me to use a variety of beads, it is a perfect technique for the challenge kits.  I combined mostly pearls and crystals from the kit and my stash to complement the pendant colors.  I added a flower toggle clasp.

Last up is the sari silk.  I am a total sucker for sari silk.  It’s just so pretty!  I decided to make a bracelet and did a search on Pinterest to look at different styles.  I was particularly inspired by this one from the shop Quisnam.  I added two other colors of silk to the blue from the kit to look like that preternatural combination of bright/dark the sky gets just before a storm.

Endless Sky bracelet

I used a handmade etched copper hook and eye clasp from Eden Art Glass.  I added dangles in the middle including the blue flowers and some other beads from the kit, a rectangular white pearl (that isn’t photographing well) and a blue and gold ridged lampwork bead by Helen Chalmers.  I added more dangles near the clasp to balance the piece.  I love it!

Thank you to Andrew for another fabulous challenge!  Please visit the links below to see what the other participants created.

Andrew Thornton, Melissa Wynne, and Laurel Ross http://andrew-thornton.blogspot.com/

 

