Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There is a group on Facebook that features auctions by Australian bead artists called, not surprisingly, Australian Art Beads.  There is a wonderful mix of artists using a variety of materials.  I’ve purchased from there a number of times and even won a bead!  I thought I’d show a few to encourage you to go visit.

First up are these lovely clear lampwork beads with gold foil by Leah Kelly.

gold leaf Leah Kelly

This is exactly the kind of bead that appeals to me – a mix of elegant and shabby with the bits of luxe gold foil looking like they are old and worn.  I have some ideas in mind for these.

Next up is a bead I won.  Australian Art Beads recently reached (and has now surpassed) 1,000 members.  They had a lot of fabulous giveaways, and I won this gorgeous poppy bead by Terri Kraehe.

poppy beadI was having trouble capturing the beauty of this bead.  In person it looks like a garden.  There are poppies all around it.

There are artists using many materials on the site – lampwork, ceramic, polymer clay, wire and beaded beads to name just some. I love beaded beads, and eventually want to try at least a rudimentary one myself.  However, in the meantime I can buy fancy ones by Ellie Andalis.  I’m quite taken with her work and have two pair to show.

Ellie Beaded BeadsI first learned about the Australian Art Beads page when Natalie Fletcher-Jones of Peruzi posted a link to one of her lovely creations that was up for auction on a bead group.  I hopped on over, joined and haven’t looked back.

If you haven’t joined yet, I encourage you to do so.  It’s fun even just to look; lots of eye candy!

 

