Tags

, , , , ,

I love Frida Kahlo‘s art and also her personal style.  In April, Kahlo’s painting Self- Portrait with Thorn Necklace and Hummingbird was the inspiration on the Art Bead Scene blog.  Artist Mary Harding, one of the Art Bead Scene blog editors, made beads inspired by Frida Kahlo.  I loved the flowers on first sight and snagged one.

Mary Harding Frida flower close up

On her blog post that featured these flowers, Mary Harding said when she thinks of Kahlo, she thinks of “big beads, big jewelry and flowers.”  I looked at some pictures of Kahlo wearing jewelry and knew the beads I had in mind would work well with Mary’s Frida Flower to create a Kahlo-inspired necklace of my own.

MH Frida fullI got these beautiful Moroccan pottery beads from The Bead Chest.  I think they look perfect with the flower.  I’m so happy with this necklace.  It’s my modern, wearable-for-me take on Frida Kahlo’s beautiful jewelry with the help of Mary Harding.  I even found the perfect clasp in my stash – a rustic twisted wire piece I got in a mixed lot destash box from Shipwreck Dandy Supply along with a twisted jump ring in a patina just the green of the beads from Eden Art Glass.

