Tags

, , , , ,

splendidprocessionchallenge

Today is the reveal for the Allegory Gallery Design Challenge – Splendid Procession edition!  These challenges are hosted by artist Andrew Thornton who hand selects the materials for the always beautiful kits. I remembered to take a picture of my kit this time, but I did not check the pictures before I started working.  They were terrible.  So here I present Andrew’s picture of the kit:

splendid procession kit

In addition, Andrew always includes a Mystery Component that he makes himself.

splendid procession MC

Pendant and photo by Andrew Thornton

Andrew’s inspiration for this kit started with a strand of watermelon tourmaline. I love those colors!  He let that and other tourmaline colors lead his mind to faerie processions in art, and here we are at the Splendid Procession reveal.

The first thing I thought when I saw the kit (online, before I saw the Mystery Component) was that I wanted to make a bracelet with the lucite flower.  I originally thought I would put it on leather, but I also kept thinking about a bracelet Andrew made for the Spring Awakening challenge.  I still had those green Czech glass coins from the Spring Awakening kit, and combined those with pink coins from this kit and amber coins from the Amethyst Aether kit.  I added some large vintage Czech glass crystals in rose, dark green and clear from my stash and wrapped it all onto a copper bracelet.

I love how this turned out.  It feels substantial and makes a joyful noise when I wear it.  Thanks to Andrew not only for the inspiration of the kit but of his own bracelet as well!

BeadLove Splendid Procession flower bracelet

When I got the kit and saw the Mystery Component, I fell in love.  It is so striking and has the perfect vibe for this theme.  I really love chunky, bold beads, but it can be difficult to find a pendant that can hold its own with that look.  No problem here!  I decided to use some red dyed jade faceted nuggets I had just recently added to my stash.  In addition I used some Czech glass, green seed beads from the kit and a few electroplated hematite rounds.  I added a rough black tourmaline nugget to the pendant to make it stand out even more.

BeadLove Splendid Procession MC necklaceI sometimes hesitate to spend money on handmade clasps just because they are often going to end up hidden at the back of the necklace.  But I have to admit that I feel more satisfied when I use them; my pieces feel more complete.  Here I’ve used a beautiful bronze clasp by Eden Art Glass. I’m extremely pleased with this piece too.

BeadLove Final SP Tassel Necklace

Of course I had to make a necklace with a tassel.  I can’t stop loving this trend. I used  the waxed linen and green seed beads from the kit to make the tassel. With a few bead caps from my stash and a large faceted bead from the kit, I made it into a pendant.  Adding some rose crystals I’ve had for a long time to other beads from the kit, I knotted the strand and added a flower clasp.

I really loved this kit.  Thanks, as always, to Andrew for a wonderful challenge. Please visit click on the links below to see what other participants made with their kits.  It’s always fun!

Ann Schroeder http://www.beadlove.wordpress.com – You are here.
Andrew Thornton, Laurel Ross, Nancy Noyes-Ward, Kathleen Enniss-Reid, Lisa Mendum, and Debbie Rogers http://andrew-thornton.blogspot.com/
