Tags

, , ,

flora hues

Lisa Lodge hosts challenges through her Pine Ridge Treasure – Beads and More Facebook page.  Today is the reveal for the Flora Hues challenge using the palette above.  The official reveal is on the Facebook page, but I also like to do a blog post.  Here is a picture of the materials I received:

flora hues kitAs you can see, I got a variety of beautiful glass pearls, some silver metal spacers, connectors and a clasp, along with several large crystals.  (I had used one before I took this picture).

First I focused on the crystals.  I wanted to combine them with leather because I like a mix of hard and soft.  I ended up making a relatively simple necklace, using one of the crystals.  I also riveted leather for the first time.  That was exciting (and easy!)  The green leather really reminded me of the woods, so I hung a leaf from the crystal and then used a few of the white pearls as dangles like dew on the leaf.

florahuescrystalnecklaceI really love the colors of the pearls.  It’s such a rich palette.  One of my favorite looks is beaded chain, so I added a few crystals in the same color family and made a beaded chain.  I have several pendants that would have gone with the chain, but I think this pendant by Andrew Thornton featuring vintage crystals works the best.  Unfortunately, it’s very hard (for me) to get a good picture of clear crystals.  But it looks great in person.  I also used the clasp from the kit on this necklace.  It is the perfect style!

florahuesbeadedchain2I also made another necklace featuring a tassel since I’m obsessed with tassels lately. This one is very full, though not quite as full when it is hanging as in this picture when it is flat.

florahuestasselI used some of each color of pearl and the sliver spacers from the kit.  I added a variety of crystals and other beads.  The tassel is made with waxed linen, and there is a piece of sari silk at the back.  It is a super long necklace and lots of fun.

This was another very fun kit and challenge from Lisa Lodge.  You can join the page to see the other creations and get in on the fun!

 

