Tags

, , , , ,

I have two reveals today!  If you are looking for the Amethyst Aether reveal, please click here.

The Art Jewelry Elements blog has a variety of very talented contributors.  Each month, one artist offers a component that the other contributors and three lucky winners get to use in a creation.  For April, the artist is Rebekah Payne of Tree Wings Studio.  I was actually the fourth winner this month.  Since an extra name fell out as she was choosing (mine!) she decided to include me.  Thanks, Rebekah!  Her component is a lovely little heart.  Although it is made from polymer clay, she has textured it to look like weathered wood.  Participants had a choice of brown or grey.  I chose grey.

RebekahPayneHeart

Both sides are textured, and she carved the word “love” into the side.  I didn’t get a good picture of that and was anxious to get started working with it, so you can see more pictures here.

I get such joy from art beads.  When I got the heart and started considering how I wanted to use it, I was thinking about how I feel when I see a new art bead.  It can feel like fireworks.  This heart is small, but I still wanted it to be the focal of my piece.  I thought of a collection of tiny stoneware clay beads I have by Ragged Robyn she calls Poppets.  The variety of textures, colors and shapes make me think of that fireworks feeling, and because they are tiny they wouldn’t detract from the heart as the focal.

AJEAprilclose

I used some grey vintage sequins as spacers and blue wire to string the beads. I wanted to keep the feel of the necklace soft and delicate, so I braided together three colors of hand painted silk cord from Marsha Neal Studio.

AJEAprilFullI love seeing Rebekah’s beautiful little heart front and center in this necklace. It makes me smile.  Thanks to Rebekah and Art Jewelry Elements for allowing me to participate this month.  It was great fun!

Please visit the links below to join the hop and see what other people have created with their heart.

Guests
Karin Grosset Grange
Carol Briody
Rebecca Anderson

Ann Schroeder – You are HERE!

