Tags

, , , , ,

I recently saw a beautiful painting by artist Erin Hanson on Folt Bolt‘s Facebook page.  Her “Purple Haze II” is a gorgeous nature study with colors and visual textures that really appealed to me.

At the time I saw the painting, I had some amethyst on my bead table that I had been trying to use.  I could now see I needed to use some green with it. The amethyst beads were a rough cut dagger shape that weren’t working with my attempted design, so I checked out dagger beads on Pinterest.  I saw one design that used wire wrapped daggers as dangles, and that gave me the idea to use mine as a sort of tassel.

Once I made the tassel, I looked around my stash a bit and found a little rolled polymer bead by Margit Böhmer in the perfect green.  Then I found a larger lampwork bead by Helen Chalmers in purple, green and brown – almost like it was made with this painting in mind.  I strung the whole works on brown waxed jewelry cord and made a macramé loop at the top.

amethysttasselI debated what to string it on, but in the end I decided I wanted to keep it simple.  I had some violet leather cord and made it quite a long necklace.

amethystfringe

I really enjoyed doing my own little inspiration challenge à la Art Bead Scene.  I like the way my necklace turned out.

