Tags

, ,

springawakeningchallengeAndrew Thornton hosts great challenges with kits through Allegory Gallery. Today is the reveal for the Spring Awakening Challenge. Here is a picture of my kit:

SpringAwakeningKitFantastic, right?  Well, that’s not all.  Andrew always includes a mystery component that he makes himself.  He reveals it on his blog prior to the challenge date, but those of us lucky enough to snag a kit already have it!

SpringAwakeMysteryWhen I first saw the carved jade piece in the kit, I thought it would make a great bracelet focal.  I used beads from the kit and just a few from my stash to create a multi-strand bracelet strung on waxed linen (also in the kit but it doesn’t show in my picture).

SpringAwakeningBraceletThen I wanted to use that gorgeous mystery component.  I love the color and the glow it has from the opalescent paint Andrew used.  It looks like spring feels!

SpringAwakeningMCnecklaceSpring is when I feel most connected to nature.  It is emerging and demands you take notice.  I’m not separated from it by layers of clothing like in winter or a desire to move through it as quickly as possible to escape the stifling humidity like in summer.  My thoughts turn a little hippie-ish in spring, so I made my necklace that way.  I used some of the more organic looking beads from the kit and some rough wood, bone and metal from my stash.  I even used a little bird (spring, right?) as the clasp.  I’m really happy with how this turned out.

Please visit the links below in order to see what other participants created with their kits.  It’s always fun!

Ann Schroeder http://www.beadlove.wordpress.com – You are here!
Michelle McCarthy of Playing with Clay www.fireflydesignstudio.blogspot.com

 

 

 

