I love old beads that show some wear.  I recently used two favorite antique trade beads from my stash in a necklace.  The antique glass faceted tube beads were made in the Czech Republic and traded to Africa.  According to Woman Shops World, they are popular with the Fulani people in Nigeria.  I love them. They are nice, heavy beads and are in good shape despite looking sufficiently worn.

tradebeads2The irregular beads at the back of the necklace are antique white green heart beads made in Ghana.  I kept thinking about adding color to this necklace, but I didn’t want to pull attention away from the clear and white beads.  The stamped brass beads seemed to add just enough contrast.

chevronGreenGirl

I also made this necklace with beautiful chevron beads and a Green Girl Studios connector.  I’m trying to summon warmer weather with this necklace, although we have been favored with some nice spring temperatures lately.  I know winter will rear it’s head again.

I also made two bracelets.  Moriah Betterly of Blu Mudd recently announced her business was switching gears to focus on pottery and sculpture rather than jewelry components.  I picked up some great pieces when she sold off her jewelry inventory, including this bracelet bar.

BluMuddBraceletIt was fun to get to use a variety of beads in this bracelet, including the three green discs I got in a destash from My Elements. I got all kinds of stuff that isn’t my usual style, but I feel vindicated because now I’ve used some!

The last bracelet I made I have been planning for a while.  I saw this project from Stampington and just loved it.  I was planning to use the Tim Holtz word band that said “Embrace Imperfection.”  Unfortunately, I snapped off the end ring when I was bending it into shape, even though I warned myself not to.TimHoltbraceletFullI’m so pleased with how this turned out.  You can’t see it well in the picture, but I used rhinestone chain (I got a beautiful length in one of Andrew Thornton‘s destashes) and some black rosary style chain (I think from Andrew as well) and some vintage brass and copper chain from You Are Not the Boss of Me.  I also included a couple of rustic dangles I got from Shipwreck Dandy Supply.

I really enjoyed making stuff just for fun and using some of my beloved stash. Often my making time is used on challenge pieces.  I love challenges and think I end up with some great jewelry from them, but it’s fun to just create freely sometimes too.

 

 

 

