Tags

, ,

I really love the braided technique I’m doing with the Knotty Do-It-All.  The necklace I made today is the first for which I used waxed jewelry cord rather than waxed linen.  I also used some beads I really love.  The pendant is a wonderful resin and brass creation from Inviciti.  They use high resolution scans of images from rare and antique books.  Be still my heart.  I love them. The brass bezels are even beautiful on the back, and the resin is treated to look old and worn.  They do a fabulous job of getting me as close as possible to having precious antique pieces!

invitcticloseup

I wanted to use a bit of color in a smaller bead near the front, and pulled in some of the blue from the pendant with tiny dyed jade beads.  Then I used gorgeous rough chrome tourmaline nuggets for the rest of the necklace.  I got these from an Andrew Thornton destash.  I have gotten some of my best beads from him, and these are no exception. This is the kind of bead I swoon over. Ok, I swoon over pretty much all beads, but I especially love rough semi-precious nuggets in this medium size.  They are perfect for the type of jewelry I really like to make.

chrometourmaline

Chrome tourmaline is a green stone.  It’s not that easy to see in its rough state, but in the right light (not winter light in Wisconsin, I can tell you) the green shows through beautifully and is perfect for this necklace as that is another color I’d like to bring out of the pendant.

braidedinvictinecklaceThis necklace speaks to my love of antiques, rough, well-used things, and a little bit of elegance and luxe worn enough that I feel comfortable using it.  Just my kind of thing!

 

