Tags

, , , , ,

MarsalaHeaderCollae

Kit and title photo by Andrew Thornton

When I first saw the Pantone color of the year and the color palette for spring 2015, I thought, “meh.”  But as I saw more posts about it and combinations featuring it, the colors really started to grow on me.  By the time I got Andrew Thornton‘s kit for this challenge, I was really into it.  I was so inspired I made multiple pieces, so I will get right to the pictures.

MarsalaCarved

I wouldn’t be surprised to see other participant creations in this vein using the carved jade bead from the kit.  It’s a heavy, very interesting bead, so I wanted to keep it simple.  I added one more bead from the kit above it, one metal bead and tassel below, a little leather lace and done!  I love it.

MarsalaPearlsPetraI loved the variety of pearls in the kit and also decided to go with the “valentine” theme with some pieces. I was thrilled to find this perfect use for my little heart charm by Petra Carpreau of Scorched Earth on Etsy.  In addition to the pearls from the kit, I got to use the tiny garnet slices that I loved.  It’s hard to see in this picture, but they are stacked on each side between the pearls and the beaded loops.  I love this necklace.  It feels like it’s full of little treasures.  It is great fun to wear and makes me feel pretty.

MarsalaRibbon

The sari silk ribbon from the kit is a beautiful strawberry ice.  I really enjoy how the different wines, reds, and pinks go together.  I was happy to get to use this little clay bead with a heart that I’ve had for years in this necklace along with various beads from the kit and my stash and a heart clasp.

We got a beautiful polymer clay pair of marsala heart charms handmade by Andrew.  I decided to use mine separately and made two necklace using them as pendants. This one used a variety of rounds from the kit, spacers from my stash and some beautiful red ribbon.  The ribbon is some of the first ribbon I ever bought and had no idea how to use.  It’s fun I finally got to use it.  The wide, flat silkiness of it feels great on my neck.  I think it’s perfect!

MarsalaMCandRibbonfull

The second necklace used peanut beads from the bead blend.  I happened to have the same beads in my stash and added some for those sections, and then used larger beads both from the kit and my stash.  I liked the little sparkle on the pendant, so used some gold. This is the second time I strung this necklace. The first time I used the large gold colored titanium quartz nugget (in the picture) above the pendant which didn’t allow the pendant to hang right.  I replaced it with a smaller, similar nugget (that is blending a little too much into the background of this picture.)

MarsalaMC2#3

This was another great kit for the Allegory Gallery Design Challenges!  Thanks to Andrew for putting these together because they are always fun and inspiring. Thanks for visiting, and please click on the links below and give some love to the other participants for their Marsala Valentine creations.

On Andrew Thornton’s Blog:
Andrew Thornton, Nancy Noyes-Ward, Donna Hoblit, Cheryl Lee Tucker and Laurel Ross
